Creating a Space in Which I Can Thrive

I tried. I tried really hard to post whatever I could get to each day. But I’m a newbie at this. Not at everything. I’m almost fully literate in HTML because I wrote in html to keep the Dear Habermas site up since 1998. But the web is changing. Now, as Susan and I restructure it, I’ve got to learn CSS and JavaScript.

I love it. But I can’t just study and practice for a week or so. We have an important project to get up and flying. So I started to post. I’ve learned to switch from the Visual tab to the html tab, and to add links the way I want them with a target=”display.” But as I learn new stuff and try to apply it to earlier posts, I keep losing things. Like an image here, a link there, and a line pops up somewhere it never should have been.

And now I’ve lost a zillion of my images. See what I mean? I wanted the light bulb that I lost when I lost The Lights Go On post.  I’ll put it up again later. I had taken to keeping notes. Whew! Lucky me. But now I’m going to take some of my own advice and show that I really did learn something in all those years at my day job. I’m going to stop making corrections and adding images at this stage of the blog.

I need to pick up speed at writing again, and that writing has to stop distorting html to make it do appearances and actions it doesn’t really need to do anymore. I’ll stick to strict Xhtml, though I still haven’t quite figured out how to use

and . I get the idea, but trying to use it as I speed write. I don’t think so. At least, not yet.

When I really need to change something, I’ll just copy the paragraph involved and affix the changes there in the new post. Sloppy, sloppy, sloppy and I’m obsessive. But hey, it’s a new century and a new decade, and maybe Boehnor will learn that the world changes and a little pain is worth it. And i definitely need to change a few things, ’cause I’m writing from memory, and as a research professional, I can’t pretend that personal memory is a great source of data. We color our memories with the context that post-dates them. The technical term for that is “interference.”

Whatever I tell you I mean quite honestly, as I recall it in the midst of speed writing. But then later, maybe a couple of posts later, I remember something else. That wouldn’t matter except that jeanniespace will lead to the second volume of On the Final Ultimate Coming of Knowledge. So I’ll have to edit out the errors when it’s finished.

And I can’t go more slowly now because Susan has to be able to follow it as I put it together so we can put up the final ultimate understanding what we’ve been doing for all these years. I’m arrogant enough to believe that as we tackle the overwhelming problems in our schools and communities, those who are contemplating the same stuff we were, need access to what we’ve learned. This is the fastest way I could figure out how to get that knowledge to the public, free, open access.

Will it be important? I don’t know. Susan and I have had day jobs that kept us from having a lot of time to contemplate our navels and the ultimate meaning of life. But none of us will ever know if we don’t get the information out there. We’re trained professionals. We know research and we know our own work. I’m betting I can do at least enough qualitative analysis of fifteen years or so of data to let others replicate our work whenever and however they can.

I’m posting every day now. Not sure whether I ever managed to successively sign up for the Postaday, but I grabbed a badge in good faith. Anyone who cares will have to forgive me for losing that one post and screwing up with lost images and lost links. They’re all somewhere, I hope. And we’ll find them as I figure out how to operate this wonderful new computer system. I know now where and how to find revisions. But not how to save them safely.

For now, I’m turning on all the links suggested by Zemanda. But, pace Zemanda, my own extensive immersion in all those sources would provide much more accurate references. But for the sake of general knowledge being passed on to all might profit from it, I’m gonna accept quantity and immediacy over quality.  (Boehner, NOTICE! COMPROMISE!) My own references are some of what I’ll add in later posts, when I can. And when we edit the final report of The Book.


For now, I’m having a wonderful time and I hope this works as Susan and I planned.

love and peace,

Jeanne the Red Jay (playing with text color)

You gotta play, honest. That’s one of the key concepts.

And now I’m off to play with categoies and tags. But every time I try this, WordPress insists on leaving the page. When I come back, things are lost. Not good. I gotta figure that out.                                                                                                                  Susan

About Jeannie the Red Jay

Emeritus Professor, lawyer, physicist, mathematician, French teacher, Ph.D. in learning theory and philosophy. Artist, wife, mother, political activist. Teller of ever so many stories gathered along the way. Emeritus Prof. in sociology at California State University, Domingeuz Hills. Web Mistress for Dear Habermas in research study with Susan R. Takata of the University of Wisconsin, Parkside: Study of Social Network Analysis in Developing a Public Sphere in Local Communities, Real and Virtual.
This entry was posted in Derrick Bell. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

