The Road Not Taken

Builletin board on the Infinite Corridor at MIT.

Image via Wikipedia

It’s too early in this blog about what Susan and I did with Dear Habermas to know precisely where we’re going. There’s a lot of data preserved from our 14 years of maintaining the website. And as we restructure it, we hope to generate even more data on how social network analysis and newer mathematical analysis may guide us to more effective inclusions of the voices of real people in the governing process. To this end, I am trying to follow through on how the Meta-Activism Project is working out, and contacted the Soros foundation in hope of connecting.

Today I followed a number of links to flesh out what recent innovations might work for us as we restruccture Dear Habermas. A few days ago I had landed, probably through Stumble! on Pinteresst. They sent me an invitation to join, and I did, fascinated by their Pin It notion. the action resembles the ReTweet of Twitter, and the Sharing of the Wall on Facebook. But I found Pinterest a little more effective with it’s bulletin board of images, found elsewhere and pinned to my bulletin board, similar to Facebook’s Wall.

It’s late and I’m tired. Tomorrow I’ll link the board I tried to do with my idea of how we might be able to measure the strength of social relationships more accurately. My board of Things I’d Dare to Do would have given a good sense of who I am. But that’s not Pinterest’s goal. I like the concept of pinning images to boards, but I’m after something different.

For now, goodnight, love and peace,

jeannie the Red Jay

The Facebook wall scrolls down. It took me quite a while that that’s what they were calling a wall. I never knew a wall that scrolled down. Everything on Twitter seems to scroll down to. I like bulletin board concept better, and I like relying on images to gather first impressions of the member whose board you are looking at. Our forums on Yahoo also scrolled downward.

Unfortunately, when I  went back onto Pinterest this afternoon, I discovered that their concept of the bulletin boards is fairly static. The boards are named things like Travel, Food and Dining, Wedding, Party Decorating. When I first signed up, something had crashed my application, and no bulletin boards had been set up. Tinkering a bit I succeeded in putting one up, and Pinterest promptly asked for the name of the board. Duh! I was just trying to see if I could pin something up with the little widget I had added to my bookmark bar in Firefox. Impatient to continue, I named my board Things I would dare to do.

The first thing I pinned up was a dining chair with a full ruffled skirt covering its two back legs. I probably wouldn’t have used what looked like ruffled organdy, but would have been delighted to to add wonderful free form knitted or crochet tassels to the back legs of the chair. My two cats would love it! And it fits right in with my yarn bombing projects. But there was no where for me to put  such an explanation on my bulletin board with the image of the chair. This happened again, when I wanted to pin up a fashion photo with a wonderfully full and drapy skirt that could have been made of a fun informal fabric. Unfortunately, The skirt dragged on the ground, which I don’t recommend for hopping in and out of cars and wandering about Los Angeles, especially not if you’re my age. But the comment when I included went onto the bulletin board of the person whose board I found it on, not on mine.

I included muffins I thought I would love, a lovely pink rose made with rick rack, sewn in the traditional craft technique for making paper and ribbon roses,  pompons in a chain hung from trees for a party, and watches, old,  old ones like I had when I was in the eighth grade in 1949, and tile coasters to which a tissue paper photograph, from my computer printer had been glued. I’ve got a million photos from all over the world that I’d love to put out that way.

But Pinterest expected those things to be on a single topic, not all together. But mine was a single topic. The topic of what I’d dare to do. That included wild fashion for myself and my kitchen chairs, healthy muffins, since I’m supposed to lose all my bad eating habits, and sharing handmades with participants in our public-sphere project. If I could have put comments on my board, you might have learned quite a bit about me. Without the comments, and the short tales that tie them all together, the board will probably look like a mishmash. Not only that, but by tomorrow when I put up the Building Blog Book at Amazon. -The BLDGBLOG Book [Paperback] at Amazon

The inclusion of architecture is because our public-sphere project must work for boys as well as girls. The crochet and knitting  came first because a six–year-old at the Boys and Girls Club on Western Ave. asked me to start there.

This picture of Habermas needs to change places with the bulletin board picture from MIT. Duh!

About Jeannie the Red Jay

Emeritus Professor, lawyer, physicist, mathematician, French teacher, Ph.D. in learning theory and philosophy. Artist, wife, mother, political activist. Teller of ever so many stories gathered along the way. Emeritus Prof. in sociology at California State University, Domingeuz Hills. Web Mistress for Dear Habermas in research study with Susan R. Takata of the University of Wisconsin, Parkside: Study of Social Network Analysis in Developing a Public Sphere in Local Communities, Real and Virtual.
This entry was posted in community development, establishing community links, Jurgen Habermas, Measure of Strrength of social relation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

