I’m back; but I did consider running away

I am not brave. I’d rather stay home behind my computer keyboard than hike the Galapagos bravely. I can do quite well with National Geographic’s films of Blue-Footed Boobies, [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYmzdvMoUUA ] if I’d have to wait around all day on an island with no Starbucks and no shopping while we wait.

I thought things were bad last week, what with CSS and XHTML and JavaScript. But now I’ve not only added a picture book piece to the novel, I’ve recognized how much time I can spend out there on sites like FlickR. Susan and I talked again today, and added Social Network and Link Analysis. And that adds another programming language, Python. I could, of course, just do all my own artwork, but I’m not sure I can afford to limit myself to the copy of Paint that came with my Windows 7. The last time I used the equivalent to Illustrator, I had a marvelous rendition of Arnold’s (husband’s) head twirling around on a platter. Cool, but hardly the kind of image I had in mind for our website.

On the other hand, there was so much chat of killers and murder mysteries today on NaNoWriMo, I think I should include at least one serial killer in my romance-with-a-moral plot. Maybe a few murders would be a little more exciting than one of those Chinese stories of morality I picked up in Beijing. Besides, I don’t think they really persuaded any of their real Chinese readers. I considered having my werewolf kill people off, figuring he could sort of stand in for a real serial killer. No problem that way with clues. With a werewolf running around I wouldn’t have to be too subtle.

Having this new blog, all my software, and novel writing month upon me is a little scary. OK. It’s a lot scary. I can’t really back away from any of what’s going on. I gotta learn to use this computer. And I gotta learn a lot of programming languages. We need them all yesterday. And I really do need the novel writing to get my old routines back. I wrote at least that much most days just to maintain Dear Habermas. But I had to restructure our whole approach.

OK. I didn’t have to. But If I didn’t there would have been no point to my going on. It took two years of experimentation before I figured out that it was basically public-sphere praxis we were after, and then I had to learn to make my own designs for knitting and crochet because today all we seem to value is money, and very little is accessible free of charge.  I wasn’t too happy with that shift in values, but in today’s economy I have to admit that one does have to earn a living. Our website will stay free. Our project will go on, grants or no. Education has to be accessible at very little cost. Trust me, it does, though I’ll be happy to debate this when I don’t have quite so much going on.

When you can’t run away without losing your integrity, you slug it out. Welcome to our slugging it out blog. I would complain about all the work, except for the fact that I’m having so much fun, and my energy is surging.

Today’s my birthday. I’m gonna go play for a while now.

love and peace, and goodnight until tomorrow.

Jeannie the Red Jay

About Jeannie the Red Jay

Emeritus Professor, lawyer, physicist, mathematician, French teacher, Ph.D. in learning theory and philosophy. Artist, wife, mother, political activist. Teller of ever so many stories gathered along the way. Emeritus Prof. in sociology at California State University, Domingeuz Hills. Web Mistress for Dear Habermas in research study with Susan R. Takata of the University of Wisconsin, Parkside: Study of Social Network Analysis in Developing a Public Sphere in Local Communities, Real and Virtual.
This entry was posted in Derrick Bell. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

