Coming of Age?

The world is an extraordinarily exciting place; and I love it. But I’ve got to draw a line in the sand and stop trying to do everything, all at once.  I’m behaving like a child in a candy store. I just came across Walt Kennedy’s blog, with a fabulous background on stamps with camels. We’ve had such a wonderful time with camels, I had to call Arnold in to see. Now he wants the stamps.

The blog is on animation. The Disney kind. And I have never wanted to do animation. Well, except for that time I swirled Arnold’s head around on a platter. But I hadn’t planned to have a character lose his head at NoNoWriMo. I think a werewolf and a vampire are quite enough to set a tone.  But I really liked Walt Kennedy’s explanation of squash and stretch. Bet I could do it if I practiced. And there’s a group around his blog – they all sketch.

No, no, no. Here’s the URL:  http://sevencamels.blogspot.com/  Go explore the Temple of the Seven Golden Camels on your own. You see, if I’m not careful, I’ll go from there to tell you all about The Books of Adam at booksofadam.com and how delightful some of his drawings of skulls and skeletons are, and how that will certainly inspire me as I put together all the Halloween handmades that I didn’t even start today because I was so tired i fell promptly asleep after brunch and slept the whole afternoon.

If I’m not careful this is going to turn into a coming of age novel, with 76-year-old teen-ager trying to do everything at once. No, wait. I already did that when I was a teen-ager. On the other hand, what about a leading character who gets older at the same time as he gets younger. I guess you’d have to start him in the middle, and then work out all those problems with understanding time. And then I land right back into astrophysics, and even they haven’t figured out time yet.  But how do you include a werewolf in a science fiction drama, or even a romance with morals? I don’t think they even wear a watch. . . Werewolves, I mean.

But of course, I did a quick check on Prospero, to see how Shakespeare handled Twelfth Night, and landed on Prospero’s Books, “Time, thou must untangle this” . . .  Well, if even Shakespeare had trouble with time, after all the plots he came up with, I’m going to skirt it for my first novel. No, I wouldn’t leave you without the URL:

http://www.prosperosbooks.net/2006/05/time_thou_must_.html

Arnold just came down. It’s already 9 p.m. This is clearly not the day I’m going to resolve my coming of age. Come to think of it, that’s a much nicer way to say “aging.” Maybe my werewolf could “age” and we could refer to his “coming of age.” Yes, I like that. Meanwhile, what does a werewolf do when he’s not scaring victims to death? He can’t just stand there and roar evil sounds at random. Does he shop? Does he hunt? Does he work? Or does he flit around like fairies on a Shakespearean island?

Like I said, or is that “as I said,” this is not the day I’m gong to resolve the dilemma of not having a day job. So I think I’ll go eat with Arnold and talk nonsense to my cats. Sometimes they actually appreciate the conversation, and join in. Arnold, too, that is.

love and peace, and let’s all hope for a better day TOMORROW.

Jeannie the Red Jay

 

Of course it’s a run on sentence. That’s the problem.

About Jeannie the Red Jay

Emeritus Professor, lawyer, physicist, mathematician, French teacher, Ph.D. in learning theory and philosophy. Artist, wife, mother, political activist. Teller of ever so many stories gathered along the way. Emeritus Prof. in sociology at California State University, Domingeuz Hills. Web Mistress for Dear Habermas in research study with Susan R. Takata of the University of Wisconsin, Parkside: Study of Social Network Analysis in Developing a Public Sphere in Local Communities, Real and Virtual.
This entry was posted in Derrick Bell. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

