I Ran Away

OK. I admit it. I ran away. I tried to download writing software for NaNoWriMo and made the biggest mess I’ve ever seen on one poor computer.

Bless it’s heart; the computer’s that is. I’ve got the right files in the wrong places. Unzipped a file for which I now have unzipped files, and the zipped file, too. Lost one of the unzipped files . . . I think! I’ve got to call Richard for help! But if I don’t fix it myself, I’ll just get in trouble again.

So I just ran away for a couple of days and dealt with family crises. Thank goodness, they’re very distracting. Now I’m going to try to set up the software again. And I will call for help. I thought I was supposed to be disengaged at 76, and not care anymore. I care! I care!

But the family crisis turned out splendidly. And I guess I’m really much happier with that than with getting my software straight. The nice thing about getting older is that you sometimes discover your skills really have grown over the years, and your ability to make things turn out OK is stronger than ever.

So, I’m back, and braver, and ready to work on software for a few weeks until I have to explain to Husband Arnold why I ordered a Kindle Fire. You see, if I can just get through the novel in November (to get back to my routine of writing everyday and producing copy everyday), then my Ubuntu and CSS and Javascript should be ready to start programming again, my software found and fixed, and I can start trying to write apps for the Kindle Fire.

Well, it is a plan. And it’s only 1:30 p.m.  Well ahead of midnight.

love and peace,

Jeannie the Red Jay

About Jeannie the Red Jay

Emeritus Professor, lawyer, physicist, mathematician, French teacher, Ph.D. in learning theory and philosophy. Artist, wife, mother, political activist. Teller of ever so many stories gathered along the way. Emeritus Prof. in sociology at California State University, Domingeuz Hills. Web Mistress for Dear Habermas in research study with Susan R. Takata of the University of Wisconsin, Parkside: Study of Social Network Analysis in Developing a Public Sphere in Local Communities, Real and Virtual.
This entry was posted in Derrick Bell. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

